Product advantages

In its Toulouse workshops in France, COLDINNOV manufactures solutions for solar-powered refrigeration, freezing and air-conditioning under the FREECOLD® brand.

  • FREECOLD® refrigerators and freezers are marketed where there is no mains power supply,
  • They run off a photovoltaic panel without any additional electronics,
  • FREECOLD® refrigerators and freezers are ideal for all domestic applications, as well as for the commercial sector (restaurants, hostelry, the tourist sector, distribution and sale of food produce including open-air markets) and medical purposes (refrigeration of vaccines and medication in African, Caribbean and Pacific countries).

Solar-powered energy for refrigeration

Solar-powered refrigeration systems designed and manufactured by COLDINNOV under the FREECOLD® brand are fitted with the patented Ecotainer® system to maintain refrigeration quality at night and on days when there is no sun with a complete autonomy of 3 to 4 days.
The only energy consumed is via a photovoltaic sensor. The process makes it possible to use this energy to supply a compressor directly, without battery or voltage regulator. With input voltage variable between 10/42 VDC, the electronic management module allows the refrigeration unit to be operational, even in conditions of limited sunlight.
Performance is based both on the variable-voltage refrigeration unit, with 3 to 4 days autonomy based on storage of cold temperatures by phase change and heightened thermal insulation to meet the new A++ energy class.

The FREECOLD® Ecotainer® – an optimized system for maintaining cold temperatures

As soon as the sun appears, even for a few minutes, the system produces cold temperatures.
In order to compensate for discontinuity of sunlight, the FREECOLD® Ecotainer® enables a temperature of 2° to 8°C (-12°C in the freezer) to be maintained for 75 hours by redistributing cold during the night or on days when there is no sun. With regular sunlight, the system enables permanent refrigeration.
Refrigerators and freezers in the FREECOLD® range feature superior insulation quality previously only found in European A++ freezers (thickness of CFC-free expanded polyurethane foam 90mm on side and rear walls and 80mm on the cover) and an aluminium inner chamber and enhanced distribution of cold temperatures in the enclosure. The eutectic tank (special composite), the evaporator chamber and its insulating cowl have been specifically developed to optimize distribution of cold in the inner chamber by confining it to around the eutectic container. Core of the FREECOLD® system, this original unit is patent-protected.

Superior modularity

The solar collector can be placed on terraces or outside and the refrigerator inside buildings. The distance can be around 4 to 8m, with only the section of electrical cable linking collector and refrigerator needing to be adapted.
Just a few modifications to system architecture are sufficient to convert it into a hybrid unit that can be operated either on solar energy or with electricity (12/24 Volt DC battery or 220 Volt AC mains).

In normal operating mode, the refrigeration unit is sized to cool food in the refrigerator (for normal domestic or commercial use, as in hotels or local shops) and activate the Ecotainer® system for around 4 days, which ensures autonomy during the night-time and on days without sun.

Ease-of-maintenance and virtually unlimited life

All components used or implemented have lifetimes superior to 15 years.
This means no costly maintenance and no batteries to change. All that is required is a regular cleaning once a year and occasionally dusting the PV panel depending on the harshness of the environment in which the refrigerator operates. The system may be considered as being “100% maintenance-free”.

Download the FREECOLD® catalogue here

Avantages produits

COLDINNOV fabrique en France dans ses ateliers de Toulouse des solutions de réfrigération, congélation et climatisation solaire performantes sous la marque FREECOLD®

  • Les réfrigérateurs et congélateurs FREECOLD® sont commercialisés là où il n’existe pas d’alimentation électrique réseau,
  • Ils fonctionnent avec un panneau photovoltaïque sans aucune électronique supplémentaire,
  • Les réfrigérateurs et congélateurs FREECOLD® conviennent à toutes les applications domestiques, commerciales (restauration, hôtellerie, secteur touristique, distribution et ventes de produits alimentaires y compris sur les marchés de plein air) et médicales (réfrigération de vaccins et de médicaments dans les pays d’Afrique-Caraïbes-Pacifique).

L’énergie du soleil pour produire du froid

Les systèmes de réfrigération solaire conçus et fabriqués par COLDINNOV sous la marque FREECOLD® sont équipés du système Ecotainer® breveté pour maintenir la qualité du froid la nuit et les journées non ensoleillées avec une autonomie complète de 3 à 4 jours.
La seule énergie consommée est l’énergie solaire via un capteur photovoltaïque. Le procédé permet d’utiliser cette énergie pour alimenter en direct, sans batterie ni régulateur de tension, un compresseur. Le module de gestion électronique, en tension d’entrée variable 10/42 VDC permet au groupe de réfrigération d’être opérationnel dès qu’un ensoleillement même limité apparaît.
La performance repose à la fois sur le groupe froid à tension variable, l’autonomie de 3 à 4 jours basée sur un stockage de froid à changement de phase et une isolation thermique renforcée pour répondre à la nouvelle classe énergétique A++.

L’Ecotainer® FREECOLD®, un système optimisé de maintien du froid

Dès que le soleil apparaît, même pour quelques minutes, le système produit du froid.
Pour pallier la discontinuité de l’ensoleillement, l’Ecotainer® FREECOLD® permet de conserver dans le réfrigérateur une température de 2° à 8°C (de -12°C dans le congélateur) pendant 75 heures en rediffusant le froid pendant la nuit ou les journées non ensoleillées. Avec un ensoleillement régulier, le système permet donc une réfrigération permanente.
Les réfrigérateurs et congélateurs de la gamme FREECOLD® présentent une qualité d’isolation supérieure réservée jusqu’à lors aux congélateurs européens A++ (épaisseur de mousse polyuréthane expansée sans gaz CFC de 90mm sur les parois latérales et le fond et de 80mm sur le capot) et une cuve intérieure en aluminium pour une meilleure répartition du froid dans l’enceinte. Le réservoir eutectique (composite spécial), l’évaporateur caisson et son carénage isolant ont été développés spécifiquement pour optimiser la répartition du froid dans la cuve intérieure en confinant le froid autour du conteneur eutectique. Cet ensemble original, cœur du système FREECOLD® fait l’objet d’une protection industrielle par un dépôt de brevet.

Une grande modularité

Le capteur solaire peut être placé en terrasse ou à l’extérieur et le réfrigérateur à l’intérieur d’un bâtiment. La distance peut être de l’ordre de 4 à 8m, seule la section du câble électrique de liaison entre le capteur et le réfrigérateur devant être adaptée.
Il est possible moyennant quelques modifications sur l’architecture du système de disposer d’un système hybride, pouvant fonctionner et à l’énergie solaire, et avec de l’électricité (batterie 12/24 Volt DC ou réseau 220 Volt AC).

En fonctionnement normal, le groupe de réfrigération est dimensionné pour à la fois refroidir les aliments contenus dans le réfrigérateur (ce qui permet une utilisation normale, domestique ou commerciale du type hôtellerie ou commerce de proximité), et activer durant 4 jours environ le système Ecotainer® (ce qui permet une autonomie pour la nuit et les jours non ensoleillés).

Une maintenance simple et une durée de vie virtuellement illimitée

Tous les composants utilisés ou mis en œuvre présentent des durées de vie supérieures à 15 ans.
Il n’y a pas de maintenance coûteuse, pas de batteries à changer. Il est seulement prévu un nettoyage régulier environ une fois par an et un dépoussiérage du panneau photovoltaïque dont la fréquence variera en fonction de la dureté des conditions de fonctionnement du réfrigérateur. Le système peut être considéré « 100% maintenance-free ».

Télécharger ici le catalogue FREECOLD®